List and classification of Vietnam’s seaports


Among the 34 seaports of Vietnam, there are 2 special seaports: Hai Phong and Ba Ria - Vung Tau seaport; 11 seaports of class 1; 7 seaports of class 2 and 14 seaports of class 3.

On July 8th, 2022, Vietnamese government announced the list of 34 seaports of Vietnam, Vietnam has 2 special seaports, which are Hai Phong and Ba Ria - Vung Tau seaport

11 seaports of class 1 include: Quang Ninh, Thanh Hoa, Nghe An, Ha Tinh, Da Nang, Quang Ngai, Binh Dinh, Khanh Hoa, Ho Chi Minh City, Dong Nai and Can Tho Seaport.

7 seaports of class 2 include: Quang Binh , Quang Tri, Thua Thien Hue, Binh Thuan, Dong Thap, Hau Giang and Tra Vinh seaport.

The list of 14 seaports of class III: Nam Dinh, Thai Binh, Quang Nam, Phu Yen, Ninh Thuan, Binh Duong, Long An, Tien Giang, Ben Tre, Soc Trang, An Giang, Vinh Long, Ca Mau and Kien Giang seaport.

On March 30th, 2023, OOCL Spain container ship has landed in Gemalink seaport in Cai Mep – Thi Vai, Ba Ria – Vung Tau province. This is one of the largest ships in the world with total length of 400 meters, 61,3 meters wide, which has recently launched in February 2023.

Seaport classification criteria

Criteria for the scope of influence of seaports are assessed on the basis of the master plan on development of the seaport system approved by competent State agencies, through the following criteria: Seaports serve the development of socio-economic national-wise, or inter-region with the function of international transshipment, or international gateway port. Seaports serve the socio-economic development of the whole country or inter-region; seaports serving the socio-economic development of the region; seaports serving the local socio-economic development.

Criteria on the size of a seaport are evaluated on the basis of the throughput of goods and the tonnage of ships received at the seaport, through the following criteria: Output of goods through the seaport; vessel tonnage received at the seaport.

The assessment and classification of seaports according to the scoring method. The rating scale is 100 points. The rating scale is determined specifically for each criterion.

Based on the score, seaports are evaluated and classified into 4 categories, which are special seaports: Having a total score of over 90 points, Class 1 seaports: Having a total score of over 70 points to 90 points, Class II seaports: Having a total score of 50 to 70 points, Class III seaports: Having a total score of less than 50 points.


Other articles

Contact Us

Booking ALS expert's advice